Wednesday, October 24, 2018
back to the old neighborhood, sorta
WEDNESDAY 10/24/18 7:45AM--now that I should start thinking about the 4th Thursday Open Mic at the OTWC, which is tomorrow, what I FEEL like doing is practising the acoustic songs...go figure...I'll start thinking about tomorrow's open mic tomorrow...in a little while, I'll go to Safeway, then I'll come home and have an early Lunch--I'm planning on having a Potomac Pizza for Dinner, expensive though it ultimately is...
Just got back from Safeway...thinking about maybe going to the Blues/Jazz open mic at Crossroads tonight--I said "maybe"...should make sure I can still play electric guitar and make sure my gear works...apparently the Fantle/Geshen duo is finished...I thought we were actually pretty good, but maybe *I* wasn't good enough...nah, that can't be it...
Likely going to a nearby Jazz and Blues Jam...leaving in about an hour...dunno what to expect, kinda nervous...
and NOW I'm nervous about Thursday night...Stoney is interfering with my performance of LOLA, *I* dunno why...why shouldn't I be in charge of that song? I'M the person singing it...
8:48PM-the blues set (three songs) went well enough; I shared it with Roger...had Andy on drums...there may be more later, I dunno...I DON’T want Tim Meese on Bass IF I get to play again... I don’t expect to, and that’s fine by me... I did get some compliments for both my guitar playing AND singing...
THURSDAY 10/25/18 7:38AM--so far my very low key refusal to go along with Stoney's suggestion regarding LOLA has been ignored...I suspect there will be friction at the 3PM load-in...and I guess I'll be back on Butch's side of the stage; I don't like that, but there doesn't seem to be anyplace onstage for me that doesn't affect someone's hearing...this may be my last gig as house guitarist; do I need that $50 bucks that much? is it worth the stress?
5:30PM--the load-in was free of conflict, as far as I can tell...hoping to have fun tonight...
10:29PM-The Kinks set went better than I thought it would…LOLA went better than the last time I try to sing it here, because this time I had the lyrics in front of me…but it coulda been better...
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment