Wednesday, January 23, 2019

this is not the time to experiment




              WEDNESDAY 1/23/19 11AM--getting nervous about going to the o.m. tonight...I think I've finally picked three songs to play...If I need four there's always LMYR...so far the choices are LAWYERS,etc., WELL RESPECTED MAN, and I'LL GET YOU...I MIGHT take cheat sheets, because like I said before, I wanna be the best "me" I can be...
             I would absolutely HATE fucking up even a little, just because I didn't bring the cheat sheets...damn that whole "too proud" thing...I'm NOT too proud to have what I call "insurance"...it's better IMO than to look like an amateur...just because *I* don't know the host, doesn't mean that he hasn't heard of me...but at some point soon, I will hopefully learn how to use the tablet for lyrics--which is what I wanted it for in the first place...
3PM--yet again, I didn't get the nap I had hoped for...but I did practice using the tablet on my Music stand...IMO it went well considering it was the first time EVER that *I* used one...but I'm not gonna use it tonight...I just found out that Jeff Karn might not be there...that's fine by me..I have no idea how popular this open mic is with the MontCo Gang...it's possible that I won't know anyone there...I will try to be brave...
5:35PM--one of my FB friends was surprised that Lahinch has an open mic on Wednesday...I hope I haven't wasted all this anxiety for nothing...it's on the venue's calendar...it's not listed in openmics.org so who knows?.I guess I'll find out in about an hour or so...and IF there's no open mic there tonight, I won't cry too much...
10:48PM--other than almost getting lost on the way there, and being very nervous, I had a good time at the Lahinch open mic...turns out I DID know the host...I met him years ago in Poolesville...as for my performances, I'd give myself not quite 9.0; in spite of having the lyrics at my feet, I messed up WELL RESPECTED MAN a little...but that didn't slow me down...I did better as a lead guitarist supporting a couple of the other performers...I enjoyed THAT...
        Now I'm gonna focus on the gig with Oz, about which I know almost nothing...ignorance is not always "bliss"...I guess I'll have to contact Scot, to find out stuff...
THURSDAY 1/24/19 7:35AM--I suddenly realized that I'm a hypocrite--I often say that open mic performers should get their act together BEFORE taking the stage...*I* have not done that...having serious second thoughts about the solo career...
               I don't what the deal is with Oz and keeping in touch with him--it's nearly impossible, I dunno why...coincidently (I think) I don't yet feel like doing the Saturday gig, but (I guess) the band is getting paid...gonna be putting a lot of mileage on the car...it seems like a LOT of trouble for what is probably only $50...it will likely take all of Sunday and then some to recover...I don't intend to go to GYY on Monday...
8:07PM--I'm sure it has happened before, but at this point in time, I'm hoping the gig gets cancelled...
8:30PM--finally heard from Oz, actually about two and a half hours ago he sent me an e-mail...all this anxiety and all the driving I'll be doing for $50? That feels pathetic to me...*I* think I should bring home twice that amount...but at least I finally know what's happening and when...

No comments:

Post a Comment